Matter Team's PvPvE extraction shooter launched Sep 15, 2026 on PC, PS5 and Xbox Series X|S. Hub for editions, crossplay, first-raid tips and patch notes.
Active Matter Guide Hub: What It Is and Where to Start (2026)
Active Matter is a hardcore PvPvE extraction shooter from Matter Team, published by Gaijin Network. It launched on Steam, PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S on September 15, 2026, and Steam shows 79% of 1,045 English reviews as positive (Mostly Positive) as of September 29, 2026. You drop into a quantum-unstable zone with a loadout, kill things, loot containers, and extract before the zone collapses. If you die, everything you were carrying that is not in a safe container and not flagged as personal gear is gone. That single rule explains most of what new players get wrong in their first hour.
This hub routes the four questions that actually matter on day one. Which edition should I buy, is crossplay real, how does the extract loop work, and what have the 0.4.x patches changed since launch.
The four questions, answered in one line each
- Which edition? Standard is the right default. It costs $29.99 on Steam and hands you 25,000 Credits, 300 Prime and enough weapons and ammo to learn the loop. See Active Matter editions and price for what Advanced and Deluxe actually add.
- Is crossplay real? Yes, at launch, but it runs as three separate matchmaking queues you pick yourself. See Active Matter crossplay before you invite your console friends.
- How does the extract loop work? Raid, loot, extract or lose it. The Shelter is the only place you cannot be raided in, and it is also where the Replicator turns recovered items into a permanent arsenal.
- What changed in 0.4.x? Seven updates landed between September 17 and September 26 alone. The headline is 0.4.0.156, which rewrote how a Personal Timeline collapse keeps your property.
Everything version-dependent on this page (review counts, prices, patch numbers) was checked on September 29, 2026. Patch numbers move fast in this game. Treat them as a snapshot, not a permanent fact.
What the game actually is

You are an operative stuck in a time loop, brought back to the same point again and again. The official site describes it plainly: you choose a loadout, enter a quantum-unstable zone rich in Active Matter, and try to get out alive. Active Matter is the resource everything else is fought over. You can harvest it three ways: killing Active Matter-transformed creatures, taking it off other players, or picking it up directly from clusters in the world.
Official source: Active Matter on Steam lists Matter Team as developer, Gaijin Network Ltd as publisher, and Sep 15, 2026 as the release date.
There are three broad ways to play, and picking the wrong one on day one is the most common self-inflicted wound:
| Mode | What it means | Good for |
|---|---|---|
| Extraction PvPvE | Raid with other players, loot is contested | Once you know how to extract |
| Extraction PvE | Same loop, no other players | Learning the systems without a bullet in your back |
| Dedicated PvP | Syndicate fights over sources of Active Matter | Players who want a straight fight |
One wrinkle worth knowing before you queue: some locations are PvE-only, some are PvP-only, and some are built for PvPvE. The official FAQ says this outright, so a map you liked in PvE may not be available in the mode you want.
At launch there are three biomes: Soviet laboratories on a restricted island, a quarantine zone in Central Africa, and an abandoned city on the US coast. The game runs on Dagor Engine, supports controllers on PC, has native Linux support, and works on Steam Deck.
Official source: About Active Matter on the official site - the biome list, the Shelter-is-the-only-safe-place rule and the Active Matter harvesting methods all come from this page.
Launch state and honest reception
| Store | Listed release date | Player cap published | Cross-platform flag |
|---|---|---|---|
| Steam | Sep 15, 2026 | Not stated on the store page | Not stated; PC-only queue plus shared PC progression |
| PlayStation 5 | Sep 15, 2026 | Not verified | Three queue options at launch |
| Xbox Series X|S | Sep 15, 2026 | Online multiplayer 2-16, online co-op 2-3 | Xbox cross-platform multiplayer and co-op listed |
The early PC-only version predates all of this. Gaijin Entertainment's game page lists two dates: 09.09.2025 for the early PC version in the Gaijin Store, and 15.09.2026 for Steam, Xbox and PlayStation. If you bought the early version, you can still claim a Steam edition at no extra cost, but the account-linking deadline is November 23, 2026. After that the route closes.
On reception, 79% positive out of 1,045 English reviews is a decent launch for a game with this much mechanical ambition, but it is not a love letter. If you want the number broken down further, the player count and reviews page tracks it, and the patch notes page keeps the 0.4.x history in one place.
What 0.4.x has changed since launch
Seven numbered updates shipped in ten days. The ones that touch how you play:
- 0.4.0.115 (September 17) - performance, animation and interface work, plus sound updates.
- 0.4.0.122 (September 18) - an experimental Body Sleeve appearance-correction mode, with the developers openly warning that spatial distortions may occur.
- 0.4.0.132 (September 21) - major control improvements, higher danger in Distorted threat locations, and Shelter building previews that tell you why an item will not place.
- 0.4.0.135 and 0.4.0.137 (September 22 and 23) - raid reconnection, container looting fixes, friends list fixes, stability.
- The Fundamental Protocol (September 24) - a new unified initiative tying the Harmonization Cycles together.
- 0.4.0.156 (September 26) - the big one. Creating a new Personal Timeline can now preserve some of your property instead of wiping it. Active Matter yields from Shy Girls went up 3-4x, Alpha Mimics and Alpha Flowermen about 10x. Shotgun sway was reduced, the TOZ-B reload bug in Open Raids was fixed, and the fusion system moved into its own Workshop tab with a partial Active Matter cost added.
Official source: Update 0.4.0.156, September 26, 2026 - the full changelog. The console row in the table above comes from the Xbox store listing, which is the only storefront publishing player caps.
If you quit mid-season, come back to 0.4.0.156 notes first. The Personal Timeline change alters how much of your stash survives a reset, which is the single biggest difference between how the game played in mid-September and how it plays now.
What to do in your first hour
- Buy Standard unless you already know you want the Deluxe cosmetics and the extra storage slots.
- Check your PC against the real requirements before you buy. It is 64-bit only and the SSD requirement is not a suggestion. System requirements here.
- Set your crossplay queue before you queue for the first time, not after your friend fails to show up.
- Run PvE raids first and learn where extract points are on a map where nobody is hunting you.
- Read the first raid guide before your second run, not your tenth.
The developers confirmed that in the September 7 Q&A, and it is worth knowing before you buy because it means your early access progress is not about to be deleted.
FAQ
Is Active Matter worth buying right now?
The systems are deep and the launch reception is solid at 79% positive, but the game shipped with rough edges around audio and inventory that the team is still patching weekly. If you want a finished-feeling product, give it a month. If you want to be early on the Monolith and Replicator progression, the moment is reasonable.
Is it single-player only or can I play with friends?
Both. It is an online shooter with solo raids, small squads, co-op and dedicated PvP. The official FAQ notes solo play is more hardcore than playing cooperatively, so squads are the gentler on-ramp.
Do I lose all my gear when I die?
Not all of it. You lose weapons and equipment that are neither placed in a safe container nor flagged as personal. That rule is printed on the Steam store page itself.
What engine is it on?
Dagor Engine, the same engine Gaijin uses for its other large-scale military shooters.
Can I play on Linux or Steam Deck?
Yes to both, per the official FAQ. Be aware the game runs through BattlEye anti-cheat and the native launcher is not finished yet.
Related Guides
- Active Matter first raid guide - loadout, looting and extracting without losing the whole stash.
- Active Matter editions and price - what Standard, Advanced and Deluxe actually contain.
- Active Matter crossplay - the three matchmaking queues and what progression does not cross over.
- Active Matter system requirements - minimum and recommended specs, SSD and BattlEye notes.
- Active Matter release date and platforms - what each storefront lists and where the conflicting dates come from.
More Active Matter Guides
Your first Active Matter raid in one page: what to bring, why to start in PvE, how looting and the Replicator work, and the mistakes that cost gear.
How Active Matter loadouts work: the starter weapon kit, backpack and pouch volumes, armour plates, and how Replicator and Refiner queues cost you time.
Every Active Matter raid zone on Dalniy Island - Scrapyard, Downtown, Cargo Port and Military Base - with variants, rotation rules and patch changes.
How Active Matter progression works past the first raid - the Monolith access ladder, Merits, the Harmonization Cycle reset and exactly what survives a wipe.
Active Matter stuck on a black screen, crashing with FATAL ERROR, or not launching at all. Ordered fixes from verifying files to reporting the bug to Gaijin.
Every Active Matter patch note from full launch to September 29, 2026 - 0.4.0.115 through 0.4.0.156, with dates and the older advice each one breaks.
Active Matter peaked at 9,626 concurrent Steam players on Sep 27, 2026. Live count, launch-week average and what the base means for matchmaking.
How to play Active Matter as a PvE-focused player: which raid types keep other operatives out, what is unavoidably contested, and where to start.
